things I find curious about japan [01]

21 07 2008

a. of young girls and fashion:

    a japanese girl will buy a pair of shoes she likes even if they are two sizes too small for her;

    she will stand with the toes of her feet pointing inwards because it’s cuter

    she will walk feigning a limp because this too is cuter (though I have my suspicions this may have something to do with point 1)

b. of litter and recycling:

    the japanese citizen must separate his garbage into 4 different classifications: burnable, not burnable, cans and glass. (this at least in tokyo, I’ve heard other places have up to 25 different categories for garbage)

    you do not take away your garbage just any day, you have to wait for “non-burnable garbage day” to do so. (I wonder how they manage in those other places with 25 different garbage)

    still, you do not find a fucking garbage-bin in tokyo! there are plastic-bottle and can bins beside jihanki, but what if you want to throw away paper? I’m sick of carring my garbage around in my bag…

c. of trains

    if you are ever late because of a train delay you can ask for a “tardiness certificate” at the station

this was borrowed from daniele’s blog. thanks a lot daniele! 

Actions

Information

5 responses

21 07 2008
Kat XDDD

Point a.3 LOL

22 07 2008
nanachan707

you think so too? it’s a mystery to me why they’d risk ending up with a real limp just to look cute…

22 07 2008
Kat XDDD

no tiene ni pies ni cabeza…

22 07 2008
Akiko-chan

Me encantan las curiosidades!! Lo de la basura lo había visto en Shin-chan, pero no sabía si creérmelo. Lo de las chicas, es increíble! Pero para mi, sin duda, lo mejor es lo del justificante por llegar tarde. ME ENCANTA!!

11 08 2008
[海・九十九里] « in dreams begin responsibility

[…] that really surprised me – and I should be posting this in my [things I find curious about japan] section – is that nearly all girls wore rubber-rings (just like kids do when they’re learning […]

Leave a Reply

