fictional character-obama conversation conjured up by aaron sorkin

10 10 2008

this is an imaginary conversation acclaimed creator of “the west wing” aaron sorkin came up with upon demand of NYtimes op-ed columnist maureen dowd. the virtual dialogue features barack obama and fictional president bartlet, from sorkin’s series. it’s supposed to take place after one of the zillions pf confrontations the two candidates have attended in the past months. I must admit I am completely lost here – it’s been a long time since I last watched TV and the running campaign for president in america’s details wouldn’t even reach me at home if I had one. nevertheless, I enjoyed “the west wing” when it was on in spain and always found the dialogues mind-boggling – I wondered how much coffee and sleeplessness it took the script-writers to come up with such brilliant stuff. so I’m sharing mainly for that reason.

if you have never seen the series – I recommend you to give it a try when your neurones can spare the time and effeort it takes to follow the plot – I’ll just tell you bartlet is played by martin sheen. the rest of the surroundings are irrelevant to the conversation.

this is just an excerpt, for the whole article go here.

OBAMA I appreciate your sense of humor, sir, but I really could use your advice.

BARTLET Well, it seems to me your problem is a lot like the problem I had twice.

OBAMA Which was?

BARTLET A huge number of Americans thought I thought I was superior to them.

OBAMA And?

BARTLET I was.

OBAMA I mean, how did you overcome that?

BARTLET I won’t lie to you, being fictional was a big advantage.

OBAMA What do you mean?

BARTLET I’m a fictional president. You’re dreaming right now, Senator.

OBAMA I’m asleep?

BARTLET Yes, and you’re losing a ton of white women.

OBAMA Yes, sir.

BARTLET I mean tons.

OBAMA I understand.

BARTLET I didn’t even think there were that many white women.

OBAMA I see the numbers, sir. What do they want from me?

BARTLET I’ve been married to a white woman for 40 years and I still don’t know what she wants from me.

OBAMA How did you do it?

BARTLET Well, I say I’m sorry a lot.

OBAMA I don’t mean your marriage, sir. I mean how did you get America on your side?

BARTLET There again, I didn’t have to be president of America, I just had to be president of the people who watched “The West Wing.”

OBAMA That would make it easier.

BARTLET You’d do very well on NBC. Thursday nights in the old “ER” time slot with “30 Rock” as your lead-in, you’d get seven, seven-five in the demo with a 20, 22 share — you’d be selling $450,000 minutes.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

